In the mosh pits at the Central library

Saturday 8th February

Mr Love & Justice: Swindon based acoustic folk/pop band fronted by singer-songwriter Steve Cox.

Rumour Shed: Purveyors of fine acoustic, bittersweet, hush-voiced loveliness since 2010.

Talk in Code: Talk In Code are back and better than ever with fresh songs and a brand new lineup!

National Library Day flyer

National Library Day flyer

Mosh pits? Music? In a library? Yes. You heard it right. Today is National Libraries day and in honour of the occasion public libraries up and down the land have been up to all sorts of things. And Swindon’s central library, as you can see from the image on the left, put on a free live acoustic music set in the Chapters cafe area over the lunchtime period.  What a superb idea!

To be honest I went with one purpose in mind which was to get some photographs of Talk in Code about whom I had previously posted. Of the other bands that were on, I had heard of Rumour Shed but knew nothing about them and Mr Love & Justice, whose set I came in just at the end of. Talk in Code on Twitter: @talkincodeband

According to @RumourShed Twitter feed they are: ‘Purveyors of fine acoustic, bittersweet, hush-voiced loveliness since 2010.’ I’m no music expert so I won’t do any sort of critique except to say I enjoyed them very much and it was great to see some different instruments – a cello and a double bass I think – but don’t quote me – like I say, I know nowt about music. Here be their website.

Apropos Mr Love & Justice, as I say I arrived at the end of their set so can’t say much about them – but what I did catch I certainly liked. Anyway here, for your delectation and deliberation, is their web presence.  Of course you can follow them on Twitter: @mrlovejustice.

But I just want to say to Colin of the Central library – it was absolutely great. What a terrific idea. Well done – I’m so glad I popped in.

A few photos – apologies to Mr Love & Justice for not having any of them:

#rumourshed #talkincode #music #swindon #mrloveandjustice

Tags: , , , ,

About amaatk123

Owner of AA Editorial Services - www.aaedits.co.uk #Digitalcopywriting #proofreading #writing Blog about Swindon as Born again Swindonian #BAS Joint English Hons graduate 2014 http://about.me/amaatk123

3 responses to “In the mosh pits at the Central library”

  1. Good Gentlewoman says :

    Sadly I couldn’t join in the fun at Central as I was knitting at Pinetrees. Knitting? All part of the ‘try something new’ theme of National Libraries Day in Swindon.

    • amaatk123 says :

      Well that’s a shame you missed it but hey you were partaking elsewhere! It was a smashing little event.Well done to the library and to the bands that took part.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. An A to Z of Swindon | Born again Swindonian - May 26, 2014

Leave a comment

The Arts in Wiltshire

A blog created by Wiltshire Council's Arts Service

Madam Renards Ltd

Theatre Productions

Art in the South-West

Shedding light on some of the interesting, challenging and downright wonderful exhibitions in the region...

Blods.com

Musings and a place to store stuff

#BiteBackSwindon

Feeding Swindon Partnership and Addressing the Cost of Living Challenges

Suzie's Kitchen

Home and lifestyle

swindon connect

Life as a business connector in Swindon - all views are my own

LIFE IS A CHALLENGE!

But I love a challenge!

Born Again Swindonian

A personal celebration of Swindon

afiftysomethingme

just got a little bit older but not necessarily wiser!

Creative Wiltshire

Celebrating best of Wiltshire's creative talent

Successful Software

...requires more than just good programming.

Jeanne de Montbaston

Reading Medieval Books