Swindon in the Past Lane: The Wrong Bus Home

The link below is to a lovely blog called Swindon in the Past Lane  by a local writer, historian and leading light of Swindon Heritage magazine. She also pens a couple of other great Swindon-centred blogs: Good Gentlewoman and Swindon at War. I only wish I had time to read them all but I just don’t. It’s a great shame. Anyway, the reason I’m sharing this particular post, Swindon in the Past Lane: The Wrong Bus Home, is because Frances’s ‘wrong bus’ home is for me the right bus home! So that made me smile for a start. And then of course it was interesting to read some detailed back story to the area in which I live.

I had worked out that many of the street names are related to the lives and people of Lydiard Park and house so it was with interest that I read about this on the post. Now, with apologies to anyone that resides in such a property, but I can’t pretend to be a fan of the mock Tudor facades of some of the houses in Grange Park. I really don’t care for pastiche at all.  As I sit here at my computer I can see a couple of houses from my window that are so adorned and it irritates me every time I see it.  But that’s as maybe and is just my personal opinion. I was however interested to read this in the post: “Grange Park was built on farmland once part of Marsh Farm and owned by the St John family.  The street names and architectural style have a Tudor theme in homage to the St John’s connection to Margaret Beaufort, mother of Henry VII.” So at least there’s an interesting reason for the pastiche architecture. Unfortunately it doesn’t make me like it any better. Sorry.

But more importantly than my chuntering about architecture, there’s lots more fascinating stuff in the blog post and numerous interesting pictures – including one of the aforementioned Tudor-style houses and several taken along the bus route that myself and the writer share – albeit one going clockwise and the other anti-clockwise –  so do give it a good read.

 

#marshfarm #lydiardhouse #grangepark #middleaze

Tags: , ,

About amaatk123

Owner of AA Editorial Services - www.aaedits.co.uk #Digitalcopywriting #proofreading #writing Blog about Swindon as Born again Swindonian #BAS Joint English Hons graduate 2014 http://about.me/amaatk123

Leave a Reply

Blods.com

Musings and a place to store stuff

wellbeingwednesday

Words and wisdom from the East (of Swindon)

Suzie's Kitchen

Cookery school, home cooked food and celebration cakes

Born Again Swindonian

A personal celebration of Swindon

swindon connect

Life as a business connector in Swindon - all views are my own

LIFE IS A CHALLENGE!

But I love a challenge!

Born Again Swindonian

A personal celebration of Swindon

afiftysomethingme

Notes from an ordinary life

creativewiltshire.wordpress.com/

An HLF Collecting Cultures Project to collect and celebrate the best of Wiltshire's creative talent

swindonartsblog.wordpress.com/

SWINDONARTSBLOG: Living in an unexpected creative hotspot...

Successful Software

...requires more than just good programming.

Jeanne de Montbaston

Reading Medieval Books

On the Luce

Part-time travel, full-time travel obsession

