Salvador speaks – to Swindon about Swindon

Boy stood by Lucien Freud painting

Salvador and painting in Swindon’s art gallery

Monday 2nd September 2013

Any readers out there who listen to R4 will be familiar with ‘Jeremy Hardy speaks to the nation’. Well here I’m delighted to present ‘Salvador speaks to Swindon’.  It’s a view of Swindon and the museum and art gallery in Old Town from 8 year-old Salvador Scott. This is entirely his own work and I hope you enjoy it as much as I have.

Salvador’s dad is Swindon poet and doyenne of Swindon’s poetry scene, Michael Scott. Michael thinks he is lucky to have met Salvador. And y’know what? I’m inclined to agree with him. I think he is.

“It’s good to be living in Swindon because it’s so quiet I can write books and films without a lot of busy noises. There are also so many fields I can run in. Did you see that? I’m a bridge, a wobbly one. Have you done that? I’ve got more. There are so many playgrounds where I can practice my gymnastic skills when I need them. (Silence, Salvador is on a broken zip wire in Witney). I like the museum where I can examine things closer I have seen on the television and heard of with pictures. Like the Badger for example when I didn’t know it had a little bit of white in its eye and very long claws. I like the gallery because when I’ve seen them in picture books I always get a closer look and see how big it is and my Daddy always points out where the paintbrush has stroked. My favourite one is the one with the bull falling and the lady in the corner who is turning the thing that looks like Salvador Dali’s clocks. Oh and the lady who looks like Ann Darrow with the leaf over her face. I also love Swindon for its unique logo with the robin which I don’t know where it comes from …. I think it’s because of the winter.”

NB: Salvador is standing by a Lucien Freud painting ‘Girl with fig leaf’ created in 1947.  I’ve written about the community television service, Swindon Viewpoint elsewhere in this blog and am mentioning them again because, interestingly enough, they have a short film on their website’s Artpoint series about this very painting.

Tags: , , , , ,

About amaatk123

Owner of AA Editorial Services - www.aaedits.co.uk #Digitalcopywriting #proofreading #writing Blog about Swindon as Born again Swindonian #BAS Joint English Hons graduate 2014 http://about.me/amaatk123

Leave a Reply

Art Reviews - The South-West and Beyond

Reviews of exhibitions in the South-West

Blods.com

Musings and a place to store stuff

wellbeingwednesday

Words and wisdom from the East (of Swindon)

Suzie's Kitchen

Cookery school, home cooked food and celebration cakes

Born Again Swindonian

A personal celebration of Swindon

swindon connect

Life as a business connector in Swindon - all views are my own

LIFE IS A CHALLENGE!

But I love a challenge!

Born Again Swindonian

A personal celebration of Swindon

afiftysomethingme

Notes from an ordinary life

creativewiltshire.wordpress.com/

An HLF Collecting Cultures Project to collect and celebrate the best of Wiltshire's creative talent

swindonartsblog.wordpress.com/

SWINDONARTSBLOG: Living in an unexpected creative hotspot...

Successful Software

...requires more than just good programming.

Jeanne de Montbaston

Reading Medieval Books

